ICC women’s T20: India defeats Pakistan by 7 Wickets

ICC women’s T20: India defeats Pakistan by 7 Wickets

in Entertainment / Sports

India won the toss and elected to field in their second game in group B match against Pakistan. Asked to bat first, Pakistan had an early blow when Arundhati Reddy dismissed Ayesha Zafar in the very first over. Omaima Sohail and Javeria Khan were both run out very early leaving Pakistan 30/3 in the seventh over.

Bismah and Nida brought Pakistan back in the game with 94 runs partnership. Bismah scored 53 runs in 49 balls, while Nida scored a blistering 52 runs in just 35 balls, which included 5 boundaries and 2 sixes.

Dayalan Hemalatha dismissed both the in form batters Bismah and Nida in the 18th over and the rest of the Pakistan batting order failed to contribute much to the scoreboard.

In a rather unique event, the Indian women's team started their run chase with the scoreboard reading 10/0 after the Pakistan women's team were penalised ten runs for running on the danger area of the pitch.

Pakistan were warned in the 13th over first but repeated similar mistakes twice, once on the 18th over when Bismah and Nidah were on the grease, then on the final ball of the innings when Nahida Khan and Sidra Nawaz were guilty of repeating the same.

Pakistan final score was reduced from 135/7 to 133/7

India started their innings with already 10 runs on the score board without even facing a single ball. Opening Batters Mithali Raj and Smriti Mandhana got off to a flying start with a 73 run partnership in no time. Mithali Raj smashed an aggressive half century scoring 56 runs of 47 balls which included seven fours.

Smriti Mandhana scored 26 runs when she fell to Bismah Maroof with Omaima Sohail taking a superb catch at deep square leg. Jemimah Rodriguez scored 16 runs and finally Skipper Harmanpreet Kaur(14) and Vedha Krishnamoorthy (8) handled the situation well and took the team to victory. This is India’s second consecutive victory out of two games in the group stage of the ICC Women's World T20.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Go to Top